OCA Asian Pacific Islander American Advocates Utah held their twenty first annual Utah Asian Pacific Islander Community Awards Evening on November 9, 2019, in West Valley Metropolis, Utah. Below the route of OCA Utah Most recent President Emilio Manuel Camu, who’s the Director of the Pilipino American Association of Utah, the evening was once enjoyed by all who attended. Elections were held to make a desire the 2020 Board for OCA Utah.

A Filipino buffet was once catered by BFF Turon. and the Dosa Are residing Living was once catered by Saffron Valley, two local drinking locations in the residence. The raffle featured many prizes donated by the OCA Utah Board and local businesses.

Floyd Mori, a Past Nationwide President and former Nationwide Govt Director / CEO of the Jap American Electorate League (JACL) and former President / CEO of the Asian Pacific American Institute for Congressional Learn (APAICS) in Washington, DC, was once honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award. Mori taught Economics at Chabot College in Hayward, California, for ten years and was once a Mayor of the Metropolis of Pleasanton, California. He served as a Member of the California Sigh Assembly for six years. He has lengthy been an suggest for Asian American and Pacific Islander organizations and points. Mori was once launched by Verona Mauga, a previous president of OCA Utah. OCA Nationwide equipped Mori with an Outstanding Citizen Award in 2012.

Receiving the Pillar of the Community Award was once Jacob Fitisemanu, Jr., Council Member for West Valley Metropolis. Fitisemanu was once born in Recent Zealand nonetheless was once raised in Honolulu, Hawaii, and Taylorsville, Utah. He has lived in West Valley Metropolis for twelve years. He was once appointed to the US Census Nationwide Advisory Council in 2014 and serves on the Board of Directors of the Nationwide Asian and Pacific Islander American Properly being Discussion board. He was once appointed in 2015 to the White Home Initiative on Asian American citizens and Pacific Islanders the save he served until 2017. He oversees the Utah Department of Properly being Clinics of Utah program.

Varied awardees for 2019 were: The Ohana Association of Weber Sigh University (Formative years Involving Mountains Award), Ratsamy Bing Vilaiphanh (Spirit of the Community Award), Feagaiga O Ali’I (Residing Treasures Award), and Nepalese Association of Utah (Organization of the Year Award).

Some individuals of the Jap American community of Salt Lake Metropolis who had been honored in the previous by OCA Utah are: Cling Raymond Uno, Wat Misaka, Irene Maya Ota, and Edith Mitko.

Cling Uno was once in attendance on the occasion as were Utah Sigh Senator Jani Iwamoto and Dr. Karen Kwan, Utah Sigh Representative, who was once a founder of the OCA Utah Chapter and is Marketing consultant to the Board.

The Salt Lake JACL Chapter and the Mount Olympus JACL Chapter supported the occasion by procuring tables for the Awards Evening.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.